Twisted love by Ana Huang

07-10-2022

Rating: 3,5/5

Spice rating: 2/5

Last month I read another Booktok favorite, Twisted Love by Ana Huang, a new adult romance novel where we follow Ava Chen and Alex Volkov. Ava Chen is a photographer and has a cheerful personality. Her brother, Josh, lives next door and is a medicine student. When Josh goes away for a year he asks Alex to look after Ava. Alex Volkov is Josh's best friend and Ava's new neighbor. He is a tall, brooding genius with an IQ of 160.

I bought the book since it ticked all the boxes for me:

  • grumpy x sunshine trope
  • touch her and I will kill you
  • hates everyone but her
  • dual point of view


In the beginning I didn't really understand the whole hype since I was not a fan of the 'operation emotion'. That is why I found Ava a bit annoying in the beginning but she grew on me. As the story progresses she shows that she is a strong person that despite her hunted past , strives to believe the good in people. Also she lets Alex groovle and we love a good groovle :)

Ava has an amazing friend group and I can't wait to read more about them. I did love the banter and dynamic between the main characters however I needed more scenes to make the relationship realer to me. What I mean with this is that we as a reader know Ava and Alex saw each other but we did not read about those moments so I couldn't really connect with the relationship.

I liked how Twisted Love is not just a 'sweet and light' romance book. There is suspense, betrayal and it deals with some dark themes. All in all it was a good start of the series and I will pick up the next book Twisted Games about Bridget and Rhys 

Maak een gratis website. Deze website werd gemaakt met Webnode. Maak jouw eigen website vandaag nog gratis! Begin