A Magic Steeped in Poison by Judy I. Lin

12-09-2022

A Magic Steeped in Poison is the first book in the The Book of Tea Series written by Judy I. Lin. This young adult fantasy is inspired by Chinese mythology and has a unique magic system based on the art of tea brewing. I like how the type of tea as well as the preparation affect the magic.


In this novel we follow Ning who enters a competition to find the kingdom's greatest shennong-shi (masters of the ancient & magical art of tea making). The winner of this competition will receive a favor from the princess. A favor Ning needs to save her sister's life.


I was captivated by Judy I. Lin's magic world that revolves around tea. It symbolizes hope because it serves as a chance to save her sister's life but also as despair because Ning unknowingly brewed a poison tea that killed her mother, the same poison that also threatens her sister's life. The tea also serves as a connection between the characters. Nings finds herself in complicated situations where she doesn't know who she can trust. This leads to interesting character dynamics and situations.


I could not put this book down. Secrets, betrayal and the rush of the competition kept me awake at night reading. If you liked the court politics side of the cruel prince, I would recommend this book!


I look forward to read A Venom Dark and Sweet just for the cover alone I need it in my bookcase.


Maak een gratis website. Deze website werd gemaakt met Webnode. Maak jouw eigen website vandaag nog gratis! Begin